3rd Generation Ram - Non Drivetrain - All Years Talk about the 2003 and up Dodge Ram here. PLEASE, NO ENGINE OR DRIVETRAIN DISCUSSION!.

New Diesel owner "burning oil smell" ???

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2006, 10:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Diesel owner "burning oil smell" ???

Hi all - I am new to Diesel truck ownership, about two weeks now. Just love this truck - Mine is a 2500 Manual trans, long box - SLTQuad 4X4 Bright RED.

So far so good - Sure do like the torque......

I have one question - I get a burning oil smell very obvious outside the cab and sometimes inside the cab. I looked under the hood for anything leaking, didn't see anything. I have 2,000 miles on the clock now and cannot see any oil loss on the dip stick.

Has anyone else experienced such a problem? My only disappointment with this truck is this odor, makes me nervous. Hopefully this just a new truck thing?
Old 05-26-2006, 10:32 PM

Had the same thing with my new truck. Didn't have it with the '03 when I bought that, but the '06 sure did have it. Seems like the odor went away somewhere around that 2,000 mile mark. I think it's just the smell of paint, oil, etc, on the new engine. The only time it did it on mine was when I really put my foot in it and it got real warm.
Old 05-26-2006, 10:48 PM

You will notice this everytime that you change the oil. For some reason new oil smells until the soot levels dampen it. All diesel trucks that I have ever been around smeel like this new and after a oil change. It will go away and it will come back when you service her.
Old 05-26-2006, 11:24 PM

My tractor has this phenomenon, as well - I always figured I spilled on the exhaust manifold or something while changing the oil.

Guess I’ll get use to it.

Thanks……………….
Old 05-27-2006, 06:36 AM