3rd Generation Ram - Non Drivetrain - All Years Talk about the 2003 and up Dodge Ram here. PLEASE, NO ENGINE OR DRIVETRAIN DISCUSSION!.

Which to buy - Used 2005 or a new 2008?

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2008, 07:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Which to buy - Used 2005 or a new 2008?

This is my first post here. I'm new to diesel trucks. I wanted one in 2005 when I purchased my 2005 Titan, but couldn't afford the $38K they were demanding at the time when the Titan was $25K and my wife was still in school. Finances have changed and it is time to get a Cummins. The Titan gets 8 mpg towing my trailer at 75 mph (9.5 mpg at 65 mph) and does a good job for a 1/2 ton truck, it gets 13 mpg city, 16 mpg highway unloaded. I'm primarily looking at the diesel for better economy (Less gallons of fuel used regardless of the difference in fuel cost) and heavier duty running gear for safer long distance towing.

Most of my driving (15K/year) is normal commuting. I will be doing more out of state wheelin trips going forward. I tow a 20' car hauler rated for 14K with my rock crawler on it, total loaded weight is generally 9200 lbs. I purchased the trailer in 2006 with the idea I would buy a diesel truck that would be well matched to it.

I found a used 2005 2500 regular cab 4x2 for sale locally. It is a SLT and basically equipped exactly as I would order a new one. It has 13K miles on it and the owner is asking $22K. Private party value shows about $20K, but the truck looks like new. After looking at the 2005 I went to the Dodge dealer and checked out the 2008. The sales guy told me that they are doing between $10K-$13K off of sticker on all 2500 trucks. The 2008 as I would order it would run me about $30K out the door (4x2 regular cab, auto trans, sport package).