3rd Generation Ram - Non Drivetrain - All Years Talk about the 2003 and up Dodge Ram here. PLEASE, NO ENGINE OR DRIVETRAIN DISCUSSION!.

Brake System Upgrades?

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2006, 10:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Brake System Upgrades?

I'm not new to trucks but I'm new to truck mods.

On the sports car forums there is a lot of chatter about upgrading brake systems....i.e. rotors, calipers, pads, complete systems from companies such as Brembo etc.

Is this a common practice with heavy duty trucks?

If so what are some of common products people are using to replace the OEM brakes?

TIA
Old 05-05-2006, 04:22 PM

i dont know really, the 4 wheel disc brakes on the 3rd Gens are pretty hefty.
Old 05-05-2006, 05:03 PM

Originally Posted by BlackSheep5
i dont know really, the 4 wheel disc brakes on the 3rd Gens are pretty hefty.
I don't plan on modding the engine at all so I a more focused on brake performance etc.

Plus I do some competitive driving so I value strong brakes as much or more than horsepower!
Old 05-06-2006, 08:38 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The biggest / best brake upgrade you can buy for the '06 is the Jake exhaust brake.

I leave mine on all the time. Outside, it sounds like a big air leak; in the cab, it sounds like a real Jake brake! In the end...it's all about MY entertainment while driving!

And, yes, even empty it slows the truck down VERY effectively. It's not like standing on the brake, but if you time it right, you hardly have to touch the brakes in the city. I do tap the brakes when slowing, just to let others know I'm slowing.