3rd Gen High Performance and Accessories (5.9L Only) Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for third generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories. THIS IS FOR THE 5.9L ONLY!

Smarty Info for the 3rd gen stepchild

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2007, 10:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smarty Info for the 3rd gen stepchild

Ok Bob and Marco, how about some information on the Smarty Jr for the 3rd gen. redheaded stepchild, of Dodge diesel trucks, the 03 SO with the 47RE
transmission.
Some of us will not add any aftermarket upgrade for fear of destroying
this "weak link" in the Ram drive line.

Thanks
BCD

Old 01-13-2008, 08:55 PM

SmartyJr or MMM w/ stepchild (2003 S.O. w/ 47RE)

Well I'm brand new to the diesel / Dodge world. My ol' trusty '99 Ford Ranger from college finally let out at 204k miles and I decided to 'upgrade' to a real truck for hauling wood and tractor/implements to hunting food plots.

I managed to find a 2003 Std. Output with a 47RE with only 40k miles on it.

Just bought it the first week of 2008. Truck is flawless and 100% stock. I've spent a ridiculous amount of time doing research in this forum, and have decided that until I have the $$$ to get a more solid tranny and the truck is out of power train warranty (70k miles) I don't want to do anything that will cause premature failure of $$$$ components (mainly tranny/pumps/turbo I'm concerned about).

Is Smarty Jr. safe for this setup? Anybody done it?
(obviously kept on the lower two of the three settings)

Am I correct in understanding that the Smarty Jr. does NOT do anything to effect PRESSURE -just timing and duration of injection? I don't want to get into serious lift/injection pump or turbo issues with wild pressure mods.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated....I'm a newbie
(2-weeks in a Cummins so far)

100% stock getting following ACTUAL mileage:
mixed 2-lane hwy / city: 16.1mpg
solid 4-lane hwy @ 70mph: 17.7mpg