3rd Gen High Performance and Accessories (5.9L Only) Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for third generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories. THIS IS FOR THE 5.9L ONLY!

New to the CTD world, a few questions?

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2006, 10:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to the CTD world, a few questions?

I have had my 06 Ram 3500 Quad Cab 4x4 for about a week and love it. I'm new to the whole diesel motor. I did put a 2in leveling kit on to level the truck. I would like to keep it stock for the most part. I do tow a 12,000lb toy hauler a few times a month. I was thinking of getting an intake and free flow muffler (since the stock pipe is already 4in). These are the only mods I plan on doing, I will get some gauges though. What intake do you recommend for a stock motor, and what muffler(I want it to be a little louder but with no diesel drone).I could leave it stock if there is no advantage to muffler and intake. Thanks. Here is my truck, before leveling kit.

Old 02-25-2006, 10:45 PM

ive got quads intake and its great and not very much turbo noise. ive heard the mbrp muffler is good ,not to loud. my uncle has the hole system. and nice truck, youll like it
Old 02-26-2006, 09:15 AM
dgm

I put the Aeroturbine 4040 in place of my muffler. I haven't replaced the intake yet. I'll do that when its time to replace my stock filter I suppose, but I don't know what I'll do yet either. The 4040 is great. The truck is a little louder at idle, but when I get on it, its pretty loud. I'm not bothered by any drone in the cab, even though its a little louder when cruising than it was when stock.

As far as I know, changing out the muffler will have little to no performance effect.

-daniel
Old 02-26-2006, 10:30 AM

for exhaust try out Rip's kit. http://www.sourceautomotive.biz/ he is a good guy and deep into the diesel. I think I am going to the shorty soon.