3rd Gen High Performance and Accessories (5.9L Only) Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for third generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories. THIS IS FOR THE 5.9L ONLY!

Need some help choosing speakers

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2004, 06:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need some help choosing speakers

I am looking at putting in front and rear 6.5" component speakers. I am looking at the Alpine SPR-176A but I have no experience with them. Any suggestions?

I have 2 MTX amps, one for sub and the other for the doors, Kenwood Z828 head unit and 2 JL 10" subs.

I also need to have a down firing sub enclosure made and installed where my front center seat is. Does anyone have a source. I have look at several places locally and they want $600.00 and up....

I listen to 90% metal/rock and 10% blues/jaz.

My truck is a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500 QC.

TIA,
-Allen
Old 11-01-2004, 07:17 PM

I don't know anything about the Alpine speakers but I've heard tons of good things about the MB Quartz speakers and www.Crutchfield.com just started carrying them.

I installed an Infintiy Perfect Series dual voice coil 10" sub in a Q-Logic box under the rear seat on passenger side and I'm very happy with the bass in truck now.

If you like it with a real lot of bass you can get an MTX Thunderform that holds 2 10" subs but you lose both sides of your underseat storage. Good luck.
Old 11-01-2004, 07:37 PM

Thanks for the reply.

I have MB Quartz 5x8 (I think) that came out of my F350...great speaker. I will definately take a look.

I thought about putting the subs under the back seat in the storage area but all the ones I have seen are up-firing and I have kids in the truck frequently (back seat).

-Allen
Old 11-02-2004, 01:54 AM