3rd Gen High Performance and Accessories (5.9L Only) Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for third generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories. THIS IS FOR THE 5.9L ONLY!

Injection Events

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2006, 07:48 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Injection Events

Ok, this won't be a thread about how to eliminate the 3rd injection event. However here's my understanding. You have a pre shot (quiet the motor) then 3 main injections (power) then a post (keep kitty clean). I know some box manufactures use pressure, timing, and duration. So if you can change WHEN and HOW LONG the injecter is open say using a TST couldn't you program it so that the 5th injection (3rd event) was used on the main power stroke?. Instead of streatching each of the 3, just add the 4th to that spot? I don't know how electronics work (i'm a mechanical engineer) but thinking out loud you should be able to change WHEN the even takes place???

I'm sure there's a million things about this I don't know, but I just got to thinking about this and was like hmmmmmmm
Old 05-12-2006, 09:50 AM

If everything else can be mapped out in the ECU I don't see why not. Someone needs to make an offroad box That way it will not apply to onroad EPA standards.
Old 05-12-2006, 10:01 AM

Originally Posted by sled4fun
If everything else can be mapped out in the ECU I don't see why not. Someone needs to make an offroad box That way it will not apply to onroad EPA standards.
OffRoad Box....yeah...YEAH......THAT'S IT!!! You nailed it! Heck, I would be willing to drive from now on with my rightside wheels on the shoulder if that is what it takes to qualify as being offroad! I promise.
Old 05-12-2006, 10:43 AM

Not all 3 pulses are stretched. The pilot injection event goes away at given circumstances, and I am not sure how much fuel is actually used on the 3rd event when you are not putting around.