3rd Gen High Performance and Accessories (5.9L Only) Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for third generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories. THIS IS FOR THE 5.9L ONLY!

Ho would you wire up three HID lights on the front bumper?

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2010, 11:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How would you wire up three HID lights on the front bumper?

I am going to be fabricating a light bar to fit three 7" HID "off road" lights over the front bumper on my 2005. I have some options on how to have them actually operate and would like to hear what others think. I usually run my stock fog lights with the low beams for better coverage just in front of the truck. I do not really want the new lights to run all the time I have the fogs on, but I would like to run them through a relay and the stock light switch.

What would you do?
Old 12-14-2010, 01:19 AM

Trust me when I tell you that I'm no electrician, but isnt the light switch a rotary, 2 position switch with a push fog on/off.........that is tied into the TIPM? I'd probably go with lighted 2 position rocker switches that are mounted out of the "oops" area of your hands. You will definitely need the relay, and depending on draw, perhaps multiple relays and some 12ga wire to feed the stadium array. You planning on playing baseball under the lights are you?
Old 12-14-2010, 02:27 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
This is a fairly easy task to accomplish. You'll need a switch, a relay and socket, a fuse or circuit breaker, and some wire.

Or, you could simply buy a ready made harness from companies like KC.

https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/...d-t278355.html
Old 12-14-2010, 03:37 PM

Originally Posted by .boB
This is a fairly easy task to accomplish. You'll need a switch, a relay and socket, a fuse or circuit breaker, and some wire.

Or, you could simply buy a ready made harness from companies like KC.

https://www.dieseltruckresource.com/...d-t278355.html