3rd Gen High Performance and Accessories (5.9L Only) Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for third generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories. THIS IS FOR THE 5.9L ONLY!

a crawl under the power wagon

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2005, 01:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
a crawl under the power wagon

W/ the dealer's being closed on Sunday, it's a great time to poke around w/ being disturbed. Since I'd like to build a diesel Power Wagon, I took a close look. Note that I'm a wannabe mechanic so ...

The bumper height is higher front and back. The 285/70R17 tires only account for 1/2" of added height. The Powerwagon front bumper is thinner from top to bottom than mine. I'm only talking about the steel part. This adds a little more clearance. I'm sure the front coils and shock make up for the rest of the clearance. There is no air dam on the front bumper. I've already removed mine.
The back bumper is really high even w/ the trailer hitch. A crawl under reveals 7 leaf springs as compared to 5 on mine. Also there's an extra 1/2 height "spacer block" (I don't know what the real term is) for a total of 2-1/2 spacer blocks under the springs compared to 2 on mine. Springs look like they are arched more. A retrofit of the back leaf springs would kill my back account I think. Probably be cheaper to go w/ a Kore front /rear suspension.

The electric sway bar disconnect is quite a mechanism and a bit bulky. I didn't measure the sway bar diameter but I think it's larger than mine. I'll have to figure out a manual disconnect method because I'm sure a retrofit would be pretty expensive.

A front skid plate protects the steering mechanisms and I think the sway bar disco. The rear skid plate assemblies are very complete and cover most of the width of the truck from the front of the gas tank to just before the rear diff. At the very least, I need a gas tank skid plate assembly. I remember a post from a few months ago on this.