3rd Gen High Performance and Accessories (5.9L Only) Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for third generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories. THIS IS FOR THE 5.9L ONLY!

Beta 4.2 with stock truck and built tranny?

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2008, 12:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Beta 4.2 with stock truck and built tranny?

Is it ok to run beta 4.2 on a stock truck with a built tranny or do you have to have fuel system, injectors and turbo. my buddy has been running it with only built clutch and fuel system, so im thinking about running it. I'll have my fuel system soon just wondering if it is ok to run 4.2 while waiting for fuel system, injectors and turbo.
Old 06-23-2008, 12:36 PM

You should be fine. My truck shifted the best with the 4.2 for some reason. Until I got a ts shift master, then it didn't really matter.

I never ran 4.2 on a truck with stock inj's, pump, or turbo though.
Old 06-23-2008, 12:39 PM

hopefully bob will comment since he commented on the JR thread. I left him a message earlier.
Old 06-23-2008, 12:40 PM
Banned

I dont see gauges in your sig, so no way. 4.2 is a race program that gets really hot with a stock turbo, and with no fuel system you will drop fuel pressure as well.
Old 06-23-2008, 12:44 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Just keep an eye on egt's. The more air/fuel the better it performs.
Old 06-23-2008, 05:22 PM

You dont see built tranny in my sig either. Just because its not in the sig doesnt mean its not there. I ran it on level 5 the other day and egt's got to 1425-1450 pretty quick but it was also quick to 100mph Does it raise rail pressure past 25000psi, i guess i just want to know if im gonna stick a tip or lose my pump before i upgrade them.
Old 06-23-2008, 05:50 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by WYODSL
You dont see built tranny in my sig either. Just because its not in the sig doesnt mean its not there.