3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Somewhat Worried

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2004, 11:21 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Somewhat Worried

Im kinda new to diesals and Dodge in Particular. My dad talked me into getting an 03 2500 4x4 Quad Cab. Has the SO engine. and Auto transmission. Had no real problems untill about 7000 miles. I was starting to get a loss of power. I was due for an oil change anyways. The dealer mech told me my fuel filter was in the worst shape he had ever seen for 7000 miles. Advised me to find another supplier. We only have 2 stations that have diesal where i live. For the first 7000 i only bought fuel at 1 station. After the filter problem i switched exclusivly to the only remaining station in town. Now at 11500 miles i am clattering at low rpm like an overheated gas engine. also a very noticeable knock at low rpm (pulling into my driveway). I called the dealer mechanic and described the situation to him and he advised my pump was probably gone due to bad fuel and he doubted warranty would cover it as it is contaminated fuel. I have plenty of power still. and have only taken it to that dealer for service. I dont have a mobile fuel lab to test the diesal before i fill up so i dont understand the no warranty issue. I was also told at my very first service that i had to exclusivly use a dodge dealer for all service or their would be no warranty on anything. (is this true?)
The first service was free at 3400 at 7000 i was hit for 178.20, at 10320 the bill was 102.23. and that was only oil changes and inspection. The 7000 mile service did include new fuel filter. Is this all normal?? or should i be trying to contact someone for help.
any help or advice would be appreciated. BTW i have only pulled my 10000 pound 5th whl camper twice with it for a total of probably 250 miles last year.
Old 03-15-2004, 12:30 PM