3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Quick dirty oil question

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2006, 11:37 AM
Advocate of getting the ban button used on him...

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Quick dirty oil question

I am fairly new to diesels. I have been around them and done some work on them in the past but this is my first brand new one to own.

It just turned 3000 miles and checked the oil again and it is already real black. Is it normal for a new engine to turn the oil black so quickly? I will be doing the first change this weekend but just wanted to make sure this is normal.

Thanks
rockcrawler304
Old 08-10-2006, 12:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yes....completely normal. It will get black pretty soon after you change it.
Old 08-10-2006, 12:04 PM

When I change the oil in mine, I start it check for leaks,shut it down and check fluid level its all ready black.
Old 08-10-2006, 12:15 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by rockcrawler304
... Is it normal for a new engine to turn the oil black so quickly?
Much higher compression in the cylinders causes more exhaust gas to blow by the rings. Hard to keep it looking new!

Color does not indicate wear on diesel oil...like it does in many other motors!

RJ
Old 08-10-2006, 01:28 PM

Thanks for the responses. I do feel better now.
Old 08-10-2006, 02:06 PM

I thought it was to make it easy to take that first reading on the ole dipstick!
Old 08-10-2006, 04:00 PM

I've been changing the oil in my '03 at 8000 mile intervals, using Chev. Delo-400, 15X40 (conventional oil).

The last two changes, I, also, had an oil analysis done on a sample. Both analysis's came back with the oil still being in good shape. (The '03 does not discolor the oil as rapidly as some of the newer engines).