3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Once again hard start

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2007, 02:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Once again hard start

I need help. I've posted before on this with little responce.

I have hard starting problems. Been to dealer 6 times so far for the same reason.

1st time replaced ECM, dash cluster, Sensor for keyless entry.
2nd Hud, reprogramed keyless entry, checked for codes
3rd replaced fuel pressure relief valve, tightened cross over tubes flow test injectors
4th replaced intake map sensor, replaced FCA valve on injection pump tested grid heaters.
last 2 times cant find anything.

I replaced fuel filter because it wouldnt start. Truck started right away. 1 week later and new fuel, truck starting hard again. I know all about bad fuel I work as a heavy equipment mech. Stuff I work on is not like my truck.

Where can I tap into a line to check my lift pump and what is the pressure suppose to be. Any help would be nice at this point.

2003 Quad cab auto 94000 miles No modds now
Took out the edge W/att until this is all fixed.

Best kick to groin is dealer will only give me 18500 for trade in
03 Larmie with all bells and whistles Leather topper running boards sprayin 35" tires 43000 for a new one I think that is high.

Come on guys help me out here.
Old 08-12-2007, 02:36 PM
DTR's Volcano Monitor, Toilet Smuggler, Taser tester, Meteorite enumerator, Quill counter, Match hoarder, Panic Dance Choreographer, Bet losing shrew murderer

I am fairly new here and really dont know anything but what I have read. However, I have seen many-many posts with the same starting problem and almost all of them resulted in the person having to get a new lift pump. Seems to be a real problem with the stock 03 LP. These guys have convinced me to get a new one from Glacier before mine goes out.
Old 08-12-2007, 02:37 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts