3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Learning about Diesels

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2005, 10:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Learning about Diesels

Just as my other threads have stated, I am new to diesel trucks. However, I am really interested in them. I love reading about them, watching them, listening to them, working on them (as much as I am capable of) and my head turns whenever I hear the roar of a dodge diesel engine (sometimes easy to distinguish between Chevy, and Ford) traveling down the road. Therefore, I was wondering if anyone knows how I could learn more about them. I have read several magazines, visited various forums, and talked with different mechanics, but it is difficult to have a technician take a lot of time and teach me different things. I want to know if there is a really good manual available to buy or anything else that would explain things, in detail, to me so that I can learn a lot more about these great engines. If you have any suggestions please tell me. Thanks!
Old 12-23-2005, 12:16 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome and read these forums!

Short answer! LOL!

Rick
Old 12-23-2005, 01:10 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I agree with Rick!

A year ago I barely knew a turbo from an injector. Just get on here and read.

Then start tinkering a little on your truck, and if you have a question just ask right here. You will usually get multiple answers to your question by somebody who knows more than you, or has already experienced that problem.

Wouldn't hurt to read some tech manuals too. And maybe join your local chapter of DTR and go to some dyno meets or whatever event is going on that month. Good Luck!
Old 12-23-2005, 04:35 AM

I think you are well on your way to your goal just by BEING here!! Welcome!!
Old 12-23-2005, 12:40 PM