3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Idling a little rough...

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2006, 11:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Idling a little rough...

Well, Im new to diesels (going on 2 years) but still dont know much. Anyways, my new 06 is idling just a bit lower than normal. Its idling around 700rpm. Its sorta rough though, it vibrates the truck more than normal. You can really feel the truck vibrating. If you give it a bit of gas to bring up the idle, it goes away. Should I be concerned?? Take it in?

I hate takin it in because they take all freakin day and Im without a vehicle. Any suggestions?

[edit]/// Forgot to add... 06 2500 auto. The cranking time has been a bit longer than when I first got it too. Probably takes a full 2 sec of cranking before it fires up. I know there was a long cranking tsb but I could have sworn it was for only manual trannies.
Old 04-20-2006, 10:44 AM
Banned

My 2004 is doing the exact same thing and it beginning to Pi$$ me off because every one I take it to says there is nothing wrong, Dodge says drive it till it pukes and Cummins says it sounds normal.....Am I INSANE or has something changed with my motor....I'm thinking injectors or pump issue and I can't find a price on replacement injectors for my 04 I would even settle for aftermarket injectors. Some guy told me he thought that they were $700.00 each^&%$#^%$*^^(:
Old 04-20-2006, 12:25 PM

Originally Posted by WSA308