3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Diesel Engines at High Elevations

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2003, 10:09 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Diesel Engines at High Elevations

In about 2 months I'll be new to diesel ownership (ordering my 2500 4X4 tomorrow). ;D ;D ;D<br><br>This summer I'm planning to tow 5000# around the Colorado Rockies. Anyone have any tips for a noobie on differences driving a diesel at higher elevation? What about gotcha's to look out for? <br>I've got plenty of experience towing with gas engines, but the last few months reading this forum leads me to believe a diesel is a different beast and there may be a few things I ought to be aware of in advance instead of learning about them on the road! <br><br>Thanks.
Old 03-13-2003, 01:42 PM

Re:Diesel Engines at High Elevations

Turbo spool up will be slower and smoke will increase as you climb in altitude. Watch your EGT's because there is less oxygen for the same amount of boost.
Old 03-13-2003, 07:47 PM