3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Can you turn you Steering Wheel Lock to Lock?

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2010, 08:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Can you turn you Steering Wheel Lock to Lock?

I cannot, although I have it leveled and I am new to this truck so I don't know if this is normal.

Also I just got a new steering box and upgraded steering system installed from Dodge last week and it did not help with Lock to Lock. It did help it in every other aspect of it's driving characteristics.

Thanks,
Joe
Old 05-10-2010, 10:18 PM
Administrator/Jarhead

Received 19 Likes on 19 Posts
I cannot now, because of my tires... you have 317's? Never heard of those.

If you have 35's (315's), you will rub, unless you have a good offset rim with the level.
Old 05-10-2010, 11:55 PM

Originally Posted by madhat
I cannot now, because of my tires... you have 317's? Never heard of those.

If you have 35's (315's), you will rub, unless you have a good offset rim with the level.
315s... I have the stock five spoke Al rims.
Old 05-11-2010, 12:03 AM

I did check the air pressure because the shop rotated the tires and I had the rear originally at 35 psi, and the front at 40. I found that they did not check and did not adjust the tire pressure, so up until tonight the front was at 35 psi. I will go for a ride tomorrow and see if it helped, they look like they bulge less with that little change in pressure.
Old 05-13-2010, 08:22 AM

I could with my 285/70's but can't with my 35's.
Old 05-13-2010, 09:28 PM

The shop called me and said that with 60psi in the tires (50psi max tires) and on the smooth concrete floors of the shop, it turns ok, but not as well on the asphalt. Therefore, the truck is OK and ready to pick up. I asked him what they changed, and he said nothing...