3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Auto shifts hard

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2007, 01:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Auto shifts hard

Hey guys this is my 1st automatic trans so maybe its me but, I think this thing shifts too hard at slow speeds. I'll be in stop and go traffic and you get rolling about 10 mph and then have to let off and coast and it clunks into the next gear. I've tried it with the O/D button off and w/it in tow mode and it still does it. Always at slow speeds. It only has 6k on the dial but has done this since new. Anybody else or anybody with any ideas.
I've always had manual trans, and I drive big trucks for a living so I'm no rookie to big torque and diesels, but I am to autos. the wifes cars don't do this at any speed so I'm thinking this is unique to my truck.
I just had to buy an auto this time so she could drive it too didn't I ?
I dropped 33k on it and now it pisses me off. I wish I'd have bought the stick, but this is my truck for the next 10 yrs and I need it to not do this.

HELP
Old 09-08-2007, 03:33 PM

mine does that too at low speeds. these trans shift very firm which is good. i wouldnt worry about it. this auto trans is the best i have had besides my Allison. it is not sloppy in shifting at all.

someone else may chime in here to correct me though.

my truck has only clunked maybe 10 times in 14k.
Old 09-08-2007, 09:58 PM

I have the same problem and have had it since new on an 06 that now has