3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

48RE Trans Fluid Change- How to drain all 16 quarts?

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2010, 10:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
48RE Trans Fluid Change- How to drain all 16 quarts?

I'm going to be doing a trans service and was wondering how to drain ALL the fluid in the trans. The factory repair DVD discusses draining, replacing filter, adjust bands, and refilling the 5 or so quarts that come out.

I would like to Fully Drain all the fluid and replace (Dealer called it "Flushing" the trans). I can't find any reference to this in the service DVD.

Also, am I better off replacing the Governor Solenoid at this time while I'm in there? Sometimes it seems to shift at a higher rpm than it should, but then it could just be me as I'm a noob to Diesels. Would I know for sure if this thing wasn't working correctly?

Thanks for any info...
I can't tell you guys how much this forum has helped me with this truck. Got it at 38k, now at 67k, and I've been on here with questions a lot more than I would have liked- front end, trans, seat foam, heater cord, i could go on and on...anyway thank you guys.
Old 11-08-2010, 05:57 AM

Do a search, you can pull the return line at the tranny and pump out the old while you fill it with new. Very easy and no mess.
Old 11-08-2010, 08:16 AM

Thanks 05HDRAM. Sounds easier than I thought, will do a search.
fatpete
Old 11-08-2010, 09:36 AM

Originally Posted by 05HDRAM
Do a search, you can pull the return line at the tranny and pump out the old while you fill it with new. Very easy and no mess.
this is how I flushed mine....found the return on the underside and had someone fill, another start the truck and I was underneath....it was a little messy but very easy; just watch for the change in color and go a little past that.
Old 11-08-2010, 09:30 PM