3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

“S-Bend, anybody else have this problem?” PART II

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2011, 09:51 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thumbs down “South Bend, anybody else have this problem?” PART II

Please read “S-Bend, anybody else have this problem?” for the initial problem.

The noise and issues with this clutch were getting absolutely crazy...SO...went into the clutch for the 4th time and pulled it out of the truck. As you can see by the pictures the clutch has a major design problem. The "polyurethane bumpers" just fell out. You can see them sitting there at the bottom of the housing. Only one actually stayed in long enough to get squished and then fall out, the rest look new. I am not an engineer but you can see the gap is about พ of an inch and you can see the holes were the polyurethane bumpers were supposed to be. I guess, think of it like a set of those “time waster” ***** you have on your desk...you know the 5 chrome ***** that you pull up on the right one and it swings back, then it collides with the other four then the left one swings. The larger the gap the more force that is transferred back and forth. Same with this clutch...thus the noise. Why can’t the gap be closed to a 1/16th of an inch or whatever allows for heat expansion and then instead of being square cut the edges at 45 so the plate key seats in the other plate? Less movement, less noise. Let me reiterate I am not an Engineer.

Anyways I just want to let people know what I have been through which is thousands of dollars, 4 clutches, 2 release bearings, my time and I would like to give people a little more education on the subject.