3rd Gen Engine and Drivetrain -> 2003-2007 5.9 liter Engine and drivetrain discussion only. PLEASE, NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

***Please Help! Want to buy truck and have some questions!!***

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2007, 02:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
***Please Help! Want to buy truck and have some questions!!***

Hello all.
I'm new to DTR.
I have been looking into diesel trucks pretty heavily for the last few weeks. I am going to need something to tow roughly 15k about 1-2 times a month. It will be in the neighborhood of 48'-53' and will be a gooseneck.
I would like to get something still under warranty with roughly 40-50k miles on it at the most.
It seems the 2004 Dodge quad cab diesel LB DRW truck might be the best deal for me. I would like to spend around 25k or so on the truck.

I wanted to get opinions from you dodge owners on what I should get though. I have been looking at the auto and 6spd trucks. Price is roughly the same and I really don't care about either as long as I get the more reliable one. It would be nice not needing to shift, but if the 6spd is a better tranny for big loads, then I would go that route.

Also, from some research on here, it seems there is an 04 and 04.5 and the difference in power is pretty substantial. How do I ensure that I get the 04.5? Is there an easy way to tell like a "manufactured after a certain date" type of thing? This would most likely need to be something I can ask over the phone when speaking with someone.

Basically, I'm just curious about what all of you think of my thoughts so far and what you would suggest I do. Is there anything any of you suggest I look out for?
I'm pretty mechanically inclined and know a thing or 2 about cars/trucks so I can look out for something if ya'll warn me about it first. My knowledge of diesels is fairly limited as I've not owned one as of yet.

Thanks in advance for any help you might give and taking the time to read this!

Jeremy
Old 05-13-2007, 02:52 AM