2nd Gen. Dodge Ram - No Drivetrain Discussion for all Dodge Rams from 1994 through 2002. Please, no engine or drivetrain discussion.

Spare Parts Kit

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2007, 11:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Spare Parts Kit

I'm the type of guy who always carries spare parts for what I think might break, like throttle cables and axles, hub fuses, u-joints, etc..but I'm new to dedge and diesel, so I'd like to know, if I was 200 miles from anywhere, what should I have with me just in case??
Old 03-15-2007, 07:30 AM
Administrator

Received 172 Likes on 130 Posts
You know, I was just thinking we need a thread with relevant part numbers. Im in the same boat as you, what would I do if I was 100 miles from home and XXX happened? I also would like to start gathering part numbers of parts that you would commonly need when doing maintenance, like say dleivery valve washers for those with the old 160 Hp pumps, front cover gasket P/N, etc.

We could set it up with a 1st gen, 2nd gen 12V, and 24V, and a common rail thread.
Old 03-15-2007, 09:58 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Front axle?... and a lift pump for sure for 24 valvers with stockers.
I was thinking that myself, but many of the suspect parts are too bulky and the tool set to carry is like, all the tools I have. I heard front u-joints fail off road, but having all thats needed to fix those with me... I am not sure. But I am marking this thread 'cause I'm a pack rat and will hole up some spares in the truck.
-P
Old 03-15-2007, 10:09 AM

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
For a 12 valve all you need is some baling wire to hold up the shutdown solenoid if that system fails and an extra fuel filter for if you get some bad fuel. Almost all of the other common problems will allow you to drive 200 miles for more parts.
Old 03-15-2007, 10:25 AM
Banned

Originally Posted by infidel