2nd Gen. Dodge Ram - No Drivetrain Discussion for all Dodge Rams from 1994 through 2002. Please, no engine or drivetrain discussion.

Shock installation

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2005, 08:56 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Shock installation

I'm getting ready to install my Bilsteins this morning. Any trick to getting the fronts off? I haven't worked on anything that the shock is actually inside the spring.
Old 02-20-2005, 09:54 AM

Lots of pen oil. Every dy for 2-3 days before you do the project. Still, the nut likes to stay stuck and the shock shaft will just spin. Ther was recent thread on the hassle of removal. Good luck with it, and make sure you get the bolts tight or the bushings will wear and you will get a clunk noise. Kevin
Old 02-20-2005, 10:30 AM
P.J
Banned

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Heres the deal. I'm a newbie, but I just installed a 2"leveling kit, in which I should have put new shocks on with (60k miles on orig.) but I neglected to because of serious NUT issues on the drivers side shock, this cost me like an hour wasted fooloing with Vise Grips and finally standing back and really thinking about these shocks. There is a fail proof way of doing this if need be. (fist I'll tell you what I think is the "right" way. First of all, you take out the lower bolt (which is held on by a weld nut with tab on the back side, so just put a socket on the front an back the bolt out) You can hold onto the "stud" part of the shock is held with a 9mm (I think) socket (use 3/8 drive, I broke a 1/4 extension at this stage) This is eaiser with a buddy helping out. Next back off the nut that holds the stud tight to the washers and pod, If you are a lucky soul in a non salt part of the US, this just might be easy for you. You should be able to proceed with the swap. NOW, if your truck is like mine and either the stud was screwed up at the Plant, or it is just too rusted to back out, you will need to do what I am going to be doing in a few weeks when I get my new Shock