2nd Gen. Dodge Ram - No Drivetrain Discussion for all Dodge Rams from 1994 through 2002. Please, no engine or drivetrain discussion.

A lot of oily grease in front of block. Is this from the breather tube?

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2007, 02:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A lot of oily grease in front of block. Is this from the breather tube?

I just purchased this 2001 Dodge Ram and I am new to the diesel forum. I see a hose on the driver's side of the block IN THE VERY FRONT that runs down into a rubber device (cup). Is this the breather? Is there anything supposed to be in the cup like a filter? It looks like the hose just goes down into the cup and that's it. The area around that rubber cup is covered with an oily film and grease. Can you help me please?
Old 09-08-2007, 02:32 PM
Chapter President

That is the "puke bottle" and you are correct it is a breather for the engine. Should be cleaned every time oil is changed, no filter just a dirty little bottle. Most times it is way overlooked. Check also to make sure that the oil is not caked on the radiator, as this will cause some overheating issues.
Old 09-08-2007, 03:46 PM

Originally Posted by wurkenman
That is the "puke bottle" and you are correct it is a breather for the engine. Should be cleaned every time oil is changed, no filter just a dirty little bottle. Most times it is way overlooked. Check also to make sure that the oil is not caked on the radiator, as this will cause some overheating issues.
Thanks for the info Wurkenman, I just got done cleaning it off everything including the radiator fan shroud and block and steering box and now I have to go get it off me. Thanks again for being nice to the newbee! Rob
Old 09-08-2007, 09:58 PM
Chapter President

That's what we are here for. By the way welcome to the site, as you can see by my number of posts I am fairly new here also.
Old 09-08-2007, 10:26 PM

azmusclecar,