2nd Gen. Dodge Ram - No Drivetrain Discussion for all Dodge Rams from 1994 through 2002. Please, no engine or drivetrain discussion.

How To Remove Exhaust?

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2003, 08:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How To Remove Exhaust?

Well, I'm a newbie here to this site and would like a little help (already did a search to no avail)

Anyways, my dad has a '98 2500 24-Valve Ext. Cab 4x4 Shortbed Automatic. Basically, we were curious one day and starting wondering what the truck would sound like without any exhaust system of it.

...Glancing underneath the truck, removing the exhaust did not seem like much of a problem...simply remove the big 'ol U-Bolts holding it in place, and wa-lah (!), it would slide right apart.

Well, after removing several U-bolts, I realized that the system is pretty much SOLID in place.

Now, to the question: I would like to remove the entire system from either the catalytic converter or the muffler back...just exiting from underneath the bed (at least for the time being!) Could someone on here PLEASE give me some instruction on how to do so (including on how to disconnect the pipes from the hangers)...even if it is not exactly legal!

Thank you,

Justin.
Old 01-22-2003, 08:41 PM

Re:How To Remove Exhaust?

Been there done that... Loosen the u-bolts, use 3lb hammer or bigger, lay on ground not creeper,brace feet against mufflerand push hard , now beat on resignator on both sides while pushing side to side with feet.
Old 01-22-2003, 08:44 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

must of just go to the muffler shop and get a strait pipe put on. The only other way is to get an air chisel and get it at the seems where they put it together at the factory. There is no converter it is a resinator, most people leave it on while others ;D prefer the nothing but pipe sound welcome to the site
Old 01-22-2003, 08:49 PM