2nd Gen. Dodge Ram - No Drivetrain Discussion for all Dodge Rams from 1994 through 2002. Please, no engine or drivetrain discussion.

Fuel pressure rising?

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2011, 01:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fuel pressure rising?

I've been running a FASS DDRP for about 4 years now. When I first installed the pump I would always run about 19-20 psi at idle. The past year it has been steadily getting higher. Now I'm running at 23-24psi at idle. Why is my fuel pressure slowly getting higher? I thought these pumps were supposed to lose pressure over time. Anybody else had their fuel pressure get higher over time running FASS fuel pumps. I know it doesn't have anything to do with my fuel filter because I haven't changed mine in about a year.
Old 10-06-2011, 12:18 AM

Received 142 Likes on 108 Posts
I'd confirm your gauges accuracy will another gauge or a tester. If you have the DDRP then you probably still have the banjos with the shrader valves which will hook up to a test gauge.
Old 10-06-2011, 07:45 AM

fuel pressure could rise if you have your sender before the fuel filter, or maybe some thing is jammed in the pressure requlator
Old 10-06-2011, 01:40 PM

Originally Posted by nickg
fuel pressure could rise if you have your sender before the fuel filter, or maybe some thing is jammed in the pressure requlator
Fuel pressure shouldn't rise ever, even if the sender is pre-filter because pressure is regulated by the fuel pump. But if the regulator is dirty is fouled up then, yes, it could affect pressure.
Old 10-08-2011, 10:19 AM

looks like i must have a problem with the sender....i've noticed that the fuel pressure gauge doesn't set back to 0 after the engine is shut down & then turning ignition on....still shows 2-3 psi on gauge......the sender for fuel pressure gauge is probably 3 years old or so.....is that about how long they last before they are shot....
Old 10-08-2011, 11:37 AM

Originally Posted by mstep3