2nd Gen. Dodge Ram - No Drivetrain Discussion for all Dodge Rams from 1994 through 2002. Please, no engine or drivetrain discussion.

Cost to fix A/C? - (evaporator problem?)

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2010, 06:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Cost to fix A/C? - (evaporator problem?)

Anyone can give me an idea how much shops might charge to fix my A/C? I've been adding freon for the last 3 years. Usually just one can per season will do it. Now I've had trouble keeping it going for more than 2 weeks. The leak is a lot more now. I've tried stop leak stuff - yeah right it didn't do any good.

I'm pretty certain it might be the evaporator. I've read somewhere here that that is what typically goes on these trucks. They get rusted out and leak. I'm worried that someone will charge an arm and a leg to pull out something under the dashboard.

I would just like to have an idea of the rough cost so that when I go into the first shop I will know whether to turn and run, or to talk seriously with the shop boss.
Old 08-31-2010, 07:49 PM

Just had mine done at All Day All Night Auto in Leander for about $950. It was the compressor on mine. Compressor, seal kit liquid line and orfice tube was all changed out.
Old 08-31-2010, 08:36 PM
Banned

I'd do some research then change the parts myself & have someone that knows what they are doing finish it up. $900 is about what my needing paint old Mercedes SD would sell for.

Another forum said to NEVER use the stop leak because it doesn't work & will mess up the shop's machines.

So... do some research. FSM is at pdftown. Start there.
Old 08-31-2010, 08:42 PM

the dash has to come most of the way out to get the heater box open and thats where the evaporator is so i would guess its not going to be less than a grand said and done. There is a writeup on it somewhere here search "evaporator replacement" in the second gen forum
Old 08-31-2010, 09:13 PM

I did mine on a Saturday for $200 total (parts).
Old 08-31-2010, 09:43 PM