2nd Gen. Dodge Ram - No Drivetrain Discussion for all Dodge Rams from 1994 through 2002. Please, no engine or drivetrain discussion.

Anybody try those Balance Bags inside your tires?

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2010, 11:20 PM

Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts
Anybody try those Balance Bags inside your tires?

Hello all!

Pretty annoyed tonight! I am very new to Dodge trucks and have never owned a diesel before. The learning curve is steep although I am trying hard to learn as fast as I can.

I had new tires put on the truck a couple of weeks ago and I have been unhappy with the ride quality, vibrations and tire wear (yes, already obvious). I noticed that there were no wheel weights on the outside edges of the rims where you would normally expect to see the weights - I DID PAY for wheel balancing. So, I figured that maybe they had just balanced the wheels on the inside edge of the rim. God, I can talk myself into just about anything!

Anyway, took it to the shop today and the senior wrench confirmed that the wheels had not been balanced. The youngster who initially installed the wheels came out and said "so the weight bags didn't work, eh?" (Yes, I'm in Canada, eh!). This was news to me that he had even tried using these miracle in-the-tire weights. On the way home I said to myself - ***? Why would they use these very pricey items in a daily driver, trailer towing truck tire? Makes no sense to me and I think the kid was just trying to cover his goof up.

So, has anyone out there in Dodge Truck land ever heard of these weight bags being used in a truck application?

Many, many other questions for y'all - just too tired tonight to burp out a lot of posts.

Cheers!

Mike
Old 05-08-2010, 12:17 AM

Received 31 Likes on 29 Posts
Why yes mike

Powder balancing and bead balancing are what I prefer to use.

Stick on weights inside the rim is the second choice, and ugly clamp on rim weights are at the bottom of the list.