2nd Gen. Dodge Ram - No Drivetrain Discussion for all Dodge Rams from 1994 through 2002. Please, no engine or drivetrain discussion.

Additional Alternator

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2008, 12:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Additional Alternator

I am thinking about adding an additional alt. on my 2001. This is for a very high power amp setup. A HO replacement is not really wanted. I want to just add another alt. I am a novice when it comes to fabbing stuff. That usually means I can make it work, but it's not too pretty. Has anyone added an additional alt. to their CTD yet? I'd like to get some ideas on the different brackets and such. Any tips for me? Any advice is welcome.
Old 04-10-2008, 01:05 PM

Received 36 Likes on 32 Posts
When it comes to alternators....... I like the Chebby! It's hard to beat the built in voltage regulator and easy to fabricate brackets for mounting. I did one just a few months ago on a Landrover, moved it from down low to wayyyy up high to keep it out of the water. Original was a marine generator but the chevy alternator is much more compact and does away with the voltage regulator. The brackets were made from 1/4 inch mild steel and just cut and welded. I bolted everything up before welding then just removed the alternator and welded the brackets together while bolted to the engine, this ensures the bolt holes will line up. Getting a belt to fit in length could be tricky.
Old 04-11-2008, 12:01 PM

The belt is one of my worries. The other is finding an alt. that works good at low rpms. My engine speed is rarely over 2k. I was hoping for some pics from someone who has already crossed this bridge. I'm not really sure how to do it yet.
Old 04-11-2008, 12:14 PM

I would say that the best way to do what you want , would be to add a true deep cycle battery , with a battery isolator , so that you do not run your amp off the main batteries .
Old 04-11-2008, 12:28 PM