24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

What to add with an exhaust brake?

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2004, 04:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What to add with an exhaust brake?

We traded in the old pull trailer and recently bought a new fifth-wheel, 7700lbs empty, 10000lbs loaded. I'm thinking about adding an exhaust brake to help. The truck is a 2001 2500 QC with the automatic. My question is what else is needed besides the exhaust brake itself to make it work as a package? I've read a different torque converter and some trans work. Who can give me a real honest answer? I'm not looking for all kinds of horsepower add-ons, I think the truck is great the way it is. Some stopping power would be nice, though.
Old 01-26-2004, 04:51 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I'm no expert, but here's my stab at it..... the exhaust brake increase the amount of compression braking offered by the engine. This does no good without a means to couple the driveline with the engine... and the stock torque converter isn't quite up to the task. There are several aftermarket TC's out there that have much better lock-up clutches in them which will allow the exhaust brake to do it's job. Most of these TC's that I've seen require some kind of valve body modification/replacement to increase the hydraulic pressure in the lock-up clutch circuit. The added benefit is that the new TC/valve body is also capable of handling additional hp/torque provided by add-ons.
Old 01-26-2004, 06:22 PM
Banned