24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Vp44

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2006, 11:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vp44

I took my Doge Ram 2001 2500 4x4 to Cummins NW to have them see if I was getting air into the injectors through the water in fuel separator that has gone bad. They came back and told me that they ran a load test on the VP44 and at low idle it is at 16% load. They say I need to replace the pump at a cost of $3500.00. I'm no diesel mechanic, but this sound fishy to me. Can anyone comment on this? Symptoms are occasional stalling when shifting into Rev and drive. Occasional sluggish start up, and once in awhile the idle will jump from 800 rpm to 1100 rpm every 3 or 4 seconds. No codes are coming up, I have no smoke, and no loss of power or gas mileage. They did not perform a flow test which I thought was kinda weird. Isn't there some kind of control module or selenoid that would control the load being put on the pump, assuming they are telling me the real story? Someone mentioned possibly a problem with the automatic RPm controller.
I guess I should add that all my problems started the day my serpentine belt was replaced. Thanks
Old 08-11-2006, 01:16 PM
Chapter President

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I'm not sure what your problem is, but it sounds fishy to me too. I know things are higher in Alaska, but $3500 is WAY higher then anything I ever heard. I think most have paid $2000 to $2500.

If you can, wait a little while and see if someone chimes in on your thread.
Old 08-11-2006, 02:15 PM

Going price in the lower 48 is $1,000 - $1,200.... anywhere but a Dodge dealers.
If your not showing codes I would doubt it's the VP-44. Or better said - I have never seen a bad one that did not show codes!

Except for increase in idle revs...sounds like bad fuel to me, or something to do with your bad water separator?? Just a guess.