24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Transmission repair

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2012, 08:06 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Transmission repair

I posted in an earlier thread that I have lost 3/4 gear in my NV4500. You guys were very helpful in helping me identify my issue. I plan to rip the trans out this weekend. After I do my understanding is that I should remove the top cover and look to see if the 3/4 gear shift fork has dropped out of position. I am by no means new to wrenching but I am new to internal tranny work, any tips or ideas that you think may help me identify/repair my problem would be much appreciated. Can't haul four kids around on the motorcycle lol
Old 05-04-2012, 12:19 PM

Received 152 Likes on 131 Posts
Search it on youtube, you may find a video on the repair. There are many for the vp44 and other Dodge stuff.
Old 05-04-2012, 04:17 PM
Administrator

Received 172 Likes on 130 Posts
LOL, it sounds more intimidating than it is. You really aren't going inside the trans. When you get the top cover off, it should become very apparent if you have an issue. The good thing is it will all be in your hand ( top cover ), so you can easily put it on the bench and work on it.
Old 05-05-2012, 07:49 AM

Patdaly
Great to hear, thank you.
Old 05-05-2012, 09:21 PM

Got the driveshafts, crossmembers, and transfer case out today. Plan to get the tranny out tomorrow. Will repost once I have a better idea as to what happened in there.
Old 05-06-2012, 07:53 PM

Ok, success! I got the tranny out today. What a beast that thing is. Had to jack the truck up to be able to get it out from under the truck. Soaked the top cover bolts in PB blaster for the evening plan to pull the top cover off tomorrow.
Old 05-07-2012, 08:22 AM
Administrator

Originally Posted by weiercd