24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Total newb here , advise plz .

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2005, 07:55 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Total newb here , advise plz .

Hi , I currently own an F-350 7.3-IDI . Total POS , I keep sinking money into it and I've had enough . From what I hear the I-6 cummins is where it's at , so thats where i'm lookin .

I know nothing about these trucks . So please excuse my ignorance .

I been lookin on Ebay and classifieds and local dealers . I've found some good deals (I think ) on ebay , and a few OK ones localy . I live in upstate NY , tons of salt on the roads in winter , so Ebay is lookin good as I think every texan drives a truck .

I'm hoping to land a 2001-2002 , 4x4 ext cab long bed . I pull a boat during summer , and would like to plow during winter , I prefer automatics . What is a good price for a truck like this with 100-150K?

Any advise as what to look for would be great . I see alot of 5th wheels out there , is a used 5th wheel a big deal ? I actually have my eye on a truck with one , but I'm afriad it might be worked hard or somthin .

Whats the differance between the 12v and the 24v , and how much different is the 3rd 'generation'?

Thx in advance .
Old 11-17-2005, 08:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
To get the most acurate price on a specific truck, your best bet is to look it up @ nada.com or kbb.com.

As far as "worked hard" it takes alot to overwork these engines, but that is the risk you take when you buy anything used. Probably the best way to tell is a good visual and a test drive.