24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Stoped running in trafic?????

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2008, 06:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Stoped running in trafic?????

i am working on a 2002 cummins with 145K and she stoped running the middle of traffic today. When i tried starting the truck it did not ant to start. No smoke.tried starting for like 5 minutes. Then i pulled filter and sprayed some brake clean down the hatch and turned it over for like half a minute and then she went. JUST LUCK>>> so i am woundering if it could be anything else then just the intank pump? I am a powerstroke mechanic about 90% of the time and every once in a while i get a cummins to tinker with so more help the better.
Old 09-25-2008, 08:43 PM

OMG dont try spraying things in there again again, intake pre-heater will ignite it in the intake and blow everything apart.... if this is infact what you are doing. Unlike a powerstroke(glowplugs) the cummins uses a toaster-like heater element right below the intake elbow before the intake manifold. There is normally a large decal explaining not to use starting fluid due to risk of serious injury or death.
I agree with the lift pump theory, fix it fast before the VP goes out.
Good luck, Fred.
Old 09-25-2008, 11:24 PM

well i love to blow stuff up, thanks for the heads up. But i have never had a problem before. on this 02 is there a lift pump on the side of the fuel filter bowl? is the electric pump in the tank? and is there another pump other then what i have just asked about? maybe somthing that i am missing. (other then the powerstroke under the hood)
Old 09-26-2008, 05:04 PM