24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Newbie here that needs some direction.

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2006, 02:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie here that needs some direction.

OK guys, so here I am leaving the chevy group and looking at a dodge with a cummins of course. Now, in the begining stages of my research I have decided on a few things. 1) I want a 2001 or 2002 (I think) and 2) I want an automatic. I am reading and hearing that the biggest problem that dodge is having is tranny problems. That may of just been the first few years, but I am here to inquire about what items I should look for. I will of course take any vehicle I am serious about buying to a mechanic for a full inspection, but what can I look for and listen/feel for when test driving? Also, as I have never owned a diesel, sometimes the price they want and the mileage seem very off, but I know a gasser can't last as llong as a diesel so 150K isn't that bad on a diesel like a gasser. I recently read the 3 click trick so that will help. I plan on using this for a side business I have where I will tow about 3500 lbs in some hilly terrain, but I am sure a cummins can easily handle that. I plan on carfaxing and vin researching any truck I am looking at, but any feedback about things to look for is greatly appreciated.

Also, would it be better to take a vehicle for an inspection to a independent mechanic or a dealer?

Great site and thanks in advance for any help you can provide; now back to reading!
Old 08-23-2006, 02:50 PM