24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

New Cummins Owner

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2009, 07:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Cummins Owner

I am new to the Cummins ring here. I just purchased a 99 Dodge 2500 w134k on it. What a difference over my previous truck(Chevy w/454). Don't know why I did not do it years ago. Now I am looking for some suggestions on improvements for power and MPG's. I tow a 8000lb trailer with this truck. The big thing I am looking for is the MPG's. Also is the any weak links I should be addressing. I have read many complaints about the weak lift pump and is an complete Fass or Airdog the way to go on that or just simply replacing the pump with a better aftermarket pump good enough? Were most of the problems related to the VP44 have to do with that lift pump or were there problems with the VP44 too? The other thing is the wonder on the road. The ball joints are good, but it probably needs a track bar. Any suggestions on how to tighten up the front end? Thanks for the help.
Old 02-22-2009, 07:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
fuel gauge first !
the early yrs for VP where known to fail quick(so I've read) the latest rebuild have updates and seem to fair better
for a performance chip thats an improvement over stock an edge EZ is nice and you can tow with it, and it improves mileage as well. but once bitten by the power bug, its addictive. my personal choice is Edge Juice/attitude, extra hp at the push of a button and you can set alerts to protect your engine, and it has built in gauges, so it makes for a very clean instal.