24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Need good diesel mechanic in San Jose, CA

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2006, 12:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need good diesel mechanic in San Jose, CA

I'm new to this forum. I own a 2001 Dodge 2500 diesel for pulling a 5th wheel trailer. I just bought the truck a few months ago. I just posted a problem with my Cummins diesel fuel(lift) pump and I got some very good information from you people on this forum. Thanks!!!! However, I'm not a mechanic and I don't feel comfortable doing the repairs myself.

Can anyone recommend a good diesel mechanic/repairshop in the San Jose, California area? My mechanic, who does a great job on my gas fueled cars, doesn't do diesel work. I live in Santa Cruz, CA but I'm willing to go as far north as Redwood City or as far south as Salinas to find a good mechanic.

Any recommendations?

Thanks,

- Simon
Old 06-24-2006, 12:36 AM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
I would look in to a FASS fuel pump and not the cummins eather .I installed my 2nd one last november and today as I was driving down the freeway I look down to see my fuel pressure jumping from 5psi to 10psi back down to 5 and it stayed there till I got home 65 miles later. I will now install a FASS pump.
I you were closer I would install it for you ,the pumps are real easy to do. 30 min. to install. If you cant find a mechanic you could drive up here with the parts and I will help you out.
Old 07-12-2006, 10:23 PM
jht