24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Guys I want to straight pipe my rig...what to do??

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2004, 01:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Guys I want to straight pipe my rig...what to do??

Allright, I just got an extended inspection sticker to '06. I figured I have an opportunity to staight pipe my rig. Question is will I get hounded by the cops,troopers,or anyone else that has a car with flashing lights and a ticket clipboard??

I like to be considerate of the neighbors, how loud would this thing be going about 15-25mph into a development?? I have heard only 2 staight piped CUmmins and both of them were being mashed down.

WOuld I be able to "slip" into my drive at 1-2am in the morning??

I am a new resident and the youngest as well so I do not want to look like a total moron or white trash. Plus a cop resides on my street. Like right across the street.

My wife was already upset at me for banging my cowbell on New Years Eve

Any advice??
Old 02-20-2004, 01:51 AM

You shouldn't have any problems, if your not in it driving down the road, which you won't be You shouldn't have any emisions problems without a muffler, it's just going to run a little cooler and have a tad more response, no big deal, it's not much louder unless you want it to be, hell nobody will probally notice You know what they say, mufflers are for ------
Old 02-20-2004, 01:59 AM

Straight piped or not, your NOT sneaking anywhere at 2am Just ease out of the sub-division when going to work in the A.M. or you will look like the

I don't see the problem, go for it. I just went to a local muffler shop and had them hack it off and weld up a straight pipe.......$65.
Old 02-20-2004, 09:36 AM

go straight pipe, you wont regret it. That is the start of a bombing bug
Old 02-20-2004, 11:10 AM

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts