24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

everyone loves the lift pump

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2005, 10:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
everyone loves the lift pump

I just bought a '98 24v cummins & 5spd that came with a dodge a week ago and am wondering if the lp is dying. i'm not new to forums in general, just this one. I have been reading up a lot on the lp, vp44 (argh!) and trying to learn as much as I can about diesels. I have read other posts about the lp but can't find a conclusive answer. is it worth mentioning that this is my first diesel and i have no experience with them?

Here are symptoms:

Hard starts when cold - lotta cranks. if it's just been run it starts up normally. the longer it sits the longer it takes to start.
when it is cold if i hit the starter about 3 times and wait 5 seconds between hits it'll start up real fast. otherwise it's a lot of cranking.
white smoke comin' out at start up
under throttle, around 2800rpm it starts losing most of it's power
no clue what the repair record is except there's no rust on this truck and no dents. was owned by a boat dealership and is in great shape.

i don't have a fuel pressure gauge yet, or pyrometer, or boost, but am in the process of ordering them. what else should I check for to diagnose this? fuel pressure? Will the pressure at idle tell me anything?

I appreciate any help, newbies always do.

******edit********

I keep reading about CE and codes if the lp is goin' bad. I have no check engine light coming on.
Old 05-04-2005, 11:20 AM

I've never have a CE light with a bad lift pump, I would check the pressure it has but it sounds like it is to late for the injector pump
Old 05-04-2005, 11:55 AM
Chapter President

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts