24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

Dodge A518 Automatic Transmission

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2005, 07:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Dodge A518 Automatic Transmission

Another newbie here and a first time diesel engine owner. Thank you for having me. I just bought a 2002 Dodge RAM 3500 with a 5.9L Cummins Turbo charged diesel engine. I plan on towing a Yanmar B37 mini-excavator with it for a total of 10,000 pounds towing with the trailer.
My concern is the transmission. I heard they had problems ( I believe it is an A518 ). Tranny repair shops said to changed the fluid and filter regularly and I should be fine. I would like to change the pan to a finned aluminum pan with extra capacity, about a gallon more.
Can anyone give me some impute on this? Is it a good idea or not worth it? I would like this tranny to last a while. The truck has 50,000 miles on it and has a 9ft. Meyers plow and a Rugby dump body on it. Seems to run fine and would like to keep it that way. Thank you for you time.

My Best, Greg
Old 11-24-2005, 08:38 PM
Administrator

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
First off, a big open armed welcome to the site, you'll come to love us like the brothers (and very few sisters) you never had.

Your transmission is a 47RE.

Regular service should keep it happy for a long time, on a stock truck.

Once you add go fast goodies, the tranny life is shortened considerably without some upgrades.

Yes, a deeper finned pan will also prolong its life, many swear by the Mag Hyteck Double Deep pan.

phox
Old 11-24-2005, 09:33 PM

I was curious about the pans as well. I asked Dave from goerends and he said it wouldnt make much difference. It would be nice to have the drain plug though
Old 11-24-2005, 09:37 PM