24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

clarification on replacing lift pump

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2007, 09:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
clarification on replacing lift pump

newbie here-
i would like to get clarification on replacing the lift pump with an electric pump. do you bypass the lift pump and leave in place or what? also , the walbro electric pump you use , what pressure does it push. reason i am asking is this, a few years ago i built a 72 chevy 4x4 for my son and changed it over to throttle body fuel injection. i had to install an electric fuel pump for this and bought a high pressure walbro from the local performance shop, long story short- we thought the pump was defective and replaced with new one only to find out that there was nothing wrong with the original. shop would not take back other even though it was never used. will this pump work? one last question is this- i have seen alot of talk about a "big hose" kit or something like that. is this the line going from the lift pump to the injector pump or something else? and what is the advantage of this? i have ordered a liquid filled fuel pressure gauge and plan on installing when it arrives by using the banjo bolt method, i ordered a 30 psi gauge.
Old 01-21-2007, 10:18 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thumbs up

Welcome to the site,
I run a single lift pump, spare is at the ready under the passenger seat.
Assuming you have a '98.5-'02 , your lift pump needs to provide around 90-100 gph at 15psi at idle. The big lines from the lift pump through the filter to the injector pump help supply fuel to lube and cool your injector pump. The stock banjo fittings are ok for a stocker. You're certainly on the right path with a lift pump fuel pressure gauge...it'll let you keep an eye on the fuel pressure.
Old 01-21-2007, 10:20 PM