24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

3rd. gear grind ?

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2004, 03:48 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 3rd. gear grind ?

Hello All, I am a newbie to this site and a newbie to diesel trucks. I wanted a real truck and a diesel was a no brainer, so after some research it was obvious that a CTD was the only diesel for me. I recently bought a 2001 SLT ext. cab short bed with the 6 sp. I LOVE the truck !! My only complaint / question is why do I have a hard time shifting from 2nd. to 3rd. without grinding ? Is this a sign of my tranny going south? I have 81,000 miles on it now and it does it even when it is up to temp. If I wait a second with the clutch in , most of the time it will not grind. but, if I don't wait it will grind every time. Ant thoughts or suggestions would be great. thanks
Old 07-10-2004, 02:06 PM
CJ

s cesnick, you might want to try changing your tranny fluid after 81,000 it probably wouldn't hurt. I personaly havn't changed mine
yet(I only have 30,000) but I have seen others change theirs out to something more high tech than dodge put in it. from what I have read
this helps. also when running empty I start off in 3rd and go straight to 5th then 6th. I know this doesn't help when hauling but it might be
worth a try CJ
Old 07-10-2004, 02:36 PM

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
First and most important, a welcome is in order. Now, how are you shifting? Not throwing stones, but as an example, my coworkers 2003 grinds quite often when he is driving. He tries to shift as if he is in his Mustang. When I test drove it and treated it like a truck, no grinds. Maybe you answered your own question about a slight delay.

The idea of a fluid change may help tho. I have a 89 that now has synthetic in the tranny, and it is the smoothest shifting 1 ton pickup I have ever driven.

Enjoy the ride

Ed
Old 07-10-2004, 04:34 PM