24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

2002 jug??

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2006, 10:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2002 jug??

Son in law just bought a 2002 120000 miles,real nice,when cleaning up all a round found a bottle type container hanging in front of engine crank shaft with hose up to front of pump area.Was full of oil? and running out onto drive way,my 2005 doesn't have it.What is it?Bottle has a hole in it near the top,some type of over flow??What was the standard exhaust configuration,he appears to have a small exhaust muffler in front of a large one,has a very throaty sound.
Old 08-06-2006, 10:58 PM

The bottle hanging down is the crankcase breather...i believe there is a more technical term for it, but im still learning! The bottle catches all the oil that "overflows" from the engine. if I remember correctly, a lot of oil in the bottle isn't a good thing, but someone will probably help you better on that.. The "small exhaust muffler" is the resonator, its main purpose is to quieten the turbocharger whistle, and the big muffler is...well the muffler, it makes things (the engine) quieter...As for the throaty sound,welcome to 2nd Generation Cummins!
Old 08-07-2006, 12:24 AM
Administrator

Received 40 Likes on 34 Posts