24 Valve Engine and Drivetrain Discuss the 24 Valve engine and drivetrain here. No non-drivetrain discussions please. NO HIGH PERFORMANCE DISCUSSION!

00 Ram 2500 stumble

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2007, 07:59 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
00 Ram 2500 stumble

Hi all,
I am new to the forum. I'm new to the CTD but not new to this generation of Ram pick-up. I did a bunch of searching before I decided to post this. First off, the truck is a bone stock 2000 Ram2500 CTD 4x4 auto. a couple of days ago I started getting a stumble around 1300 rpm's in overdrive. Now I get the stumble from 1300-1600 rpm, no matter the gear. If I accelerate thru that rpm range it is fine. But if I try and cruz at that rpm it stumbles. Thanks to these forums I was able to figure out how to check the codes (no CEL ever came on) I had a P0122 (APS) and a P1693 (some kind off ECU code?)
now the truck doesn't have a fuel pressure guage yet but I'm working on that.So I can't tell you the fuel pressure. I can tell you it starts up perfect every time, and doesn't miss a beat at idle. It does seam a little slugish. Would the APS be causing this. Can it be reset? and if so how? I am going to change the fuel filter today as this seems to be an easy perhaps simple fix that could solve the problem? but I'm not confidant it will. should I be taking it to have the fuel pressure tested? instead of waiting a week to get a gauge in the truck.
Thanks in advance Ben
(sorry for the spelling and grammer)
Old 08-01-2007, 09:35 AM

OK.
I can't seem to find this APS sensor aftermarket. I called the dealer and they called it a Bell Crank sensor is this the correct name? They want $710 canadian for it. Does anybody know if this is availible in aftermarket or were it can be had cheaper?
Old 08-03-2007, 07:40 AM