1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Squeeky noise- under dash?

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2004, 04:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Squeeky noise- under dash?

I'm new with this Ram. It's a 1993 W250-LE 4x4, AT, AC, windows, locks etc. with 1st Gen Cummins diesel. Bought it in December with 124K miles; one owner before me.

I took my 7-1/2' Meyer Quick-Mount plow off my '91 D250 ( 360 V8 ) and installed it on this one. I luv this truck. Nice stiff ride, pulls like a Bear and has tons of torque. And, it was pretty quiet inside ( for a Cummins diesel ) until after I took the plow off last week. Now, I have this annoying "squeek" noise that's almost like a "chirp". I don't have to run over anything to get it to squeek. Just driving does it, and it wasn't there last time I took the plow off in February.

I didn't hurt the truck plowing this year which is rare for me because my accounts have parking curbs you can't see under a large snowfall. I've looked everywhere I can think of. It sounds like it's coming from the firewall area on the driver's side. My '91 gasser never had this issue.

The noise goes away after I run the truck through a wash. But, returns again when it's dry. No driving problems, no handling issues. Stops great, good pedal. Just that darn squeek. It's driving me nutz. Suggestions?
Bob
Old 04-09-2004, 06:06 PM

Mine has the same annoying squek. I have tracked mine down to the notorious cowl cracks that plague our 1st gen trucks. Might give that a check.

If you are not familiar with the cowl crack issue, check the tech section under 1st gens.

Carl
Old 04-10-2004, 06:50 AM
I was banned per my own request for speaking the name Pelosi

That's what I was thinking too.
Old 04-11-2004, 09:20 AM