1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Skyjacker Lifts for 1st gens are a trash

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2014, 10:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thinking about Skyjacker springs? Read this first.

*Changed the title and will add this disclaimer. Read at least the first page don't stop after my post if you're thinking about ordering.*

I will start off by saying I ordered these springs thinking skyjacker products were some of the best mass produced leaf spring lifts available. My opinion has changed.

Skyjacker Lifts for the 1st gen diesels should not be used in these trucks they are a hack job that would probably require $5 worth of modification at the factory to turn into a quality piece. Skyjacker is likely well aware of this and after finding what to search for it seems as though their story on my major issue with them has changed over the years with no attempt at a correction. I was well aware of the fact that the springs are expected to sag in short order and quality control is low enough that many trucks will sit unlevel with a brand new set of springs but mine was riding on the bump stop and I didn't want to wait 4-6 weeks for Alcans.