1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Should I get a 16 cm turbo housing

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2006, 12:36 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Should I get a 16 cm turbo housing

I have a stock truck (see sig) I am new to the cummins so I am not sure where I should go first. I just ordered a 3200 RPM spring from PDR. When I put it in I will turn up the fuel screw a little. That seems to be a no-brainer. The next thing that I am thinking about doing is changing the turbo housing out from a 18.5 to 16. Will this make much of a difference, or should I spend my money somewhere else?
Old 02-26-2006, 01:00 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
From my personal experience of being a fellow 18.5cm housing owner and doing the swap to a 16 I wish i hadn't spent the money on it and spent it else where.
reason
1. I didn't notice a $200 difference
2. Im serious about bombing my truck (translation - stock turbo ain't staying anyway)
3. hmmm I dunno 3 maybe I regret wasting my money on it now cuz I know im gertting a different turbo and I could have put that 200 to better use. AND NO it has nothing to do with 1 or 2
Old 02-26-2006, 01:04 AM
DBF

A 91 W250 with 20,900 miles? Where has this truck been?

In any case, add the gauges you'll need *before* you do the mods so that you know the effects of each mod as you put it in.

The gauges the group has found most needed are:
1. Boost - intake manifold pressure
2. EGT - exhaust gas temperature measured in the exhaust manifold
3. Tachometer - shows engine rpm
4. Automatic Transmission Temperature - critical for these 727/518 as you add power. Heat is the big enemy of auto transmissions.