1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Power ?

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2007, 09:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Power ?

I've got a 91.5 D250 auto, pod injectors, 16cm housing, pump maxed,1/8 timing bump, and isspro pyro. I'm pretty new to diesel's and this site so my "knowledge" is only what I've read on DTR and the little I've learned from playing with my truck. The other day my charging system went out. I replaced all fusible links by wiring in a fuse box. I've checked the wiring twice and seems correct. I replaced the batt., alternator which was checked good before purchase, and voltage regulator. Still not charging.
From what I've read here most of ya'll who've turned your pumps up say that the tires will light up. I noticed an extreme difference in power, but can only get the tires to break free if I at least give a slight turn as I gag on it. My Pyro hits about 11oo max,no load. 0-60 about 5.5 sec.
No stop watch on hand. Anyways, just seems you guys might be having a little more of a gain than I did. Also wondering if there was any more quick, cheap mods I haven't found yet.
Old 11-27-2007, 09:37 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
turn your fuel pin around, free mod if it hasnt been done yet, i dont know why your truck wont charge, sure there is someone who can help with that, you could also grind your own fuel pin too.
Old 11-27-2007, 10:46 PM

Im not sure of the year they started this but on the 92 and up the computer controlled the alt, It needs a crank sensor signal to tell it the engine is running before it will start charging. I see u have an external reg but that could have been wired in after and incorrectly. Some new reg's dont work right out of the box. They ground through the case of the reg, make sure its clean. Good luck