1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Opened a can of worms!!! (rust)

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2008, 08:51 PM
Chapter President

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Opened a can of worms!!! (rust)

I heard some crunching under my feet the other day and removing the carpet reveled this

i absolutely hate body work and really stink at it. how far do you think i should cut back. the shaded green all seems pretty solid. do you think it would be good if i replaced everything inside the green area.

any tips would be helpful, i am a complete noob when it comes to this stuff.

Old 12-05-2008, 09:01 PM

Received 16 Likes on 7 Posts
insted of making all the bends and wierd lines you should cut the entire piece out straight across where ur line is closest to ur seat is and then cut the whole section up to where the metal is good at where ur firewall is and use that kind of as a template and bend it to fit and then use smaller pieces to scab in metal where ur foot would go for the throttle just to the right, just you will have to get under the truck or try to find where they tac welded the floor to one of the cross pieces on the left hand side of your picture where the big hole is, thats how i went about mine and then fiberglassed it all after, both passenger and drivers side were bad.
Old 12-05-2008, 09:07 PM

Hey zach, when we did ours it was worse then that but id go farther back to the seat, like get rid of that little triangle peice and jus make it go farther back towards the seat. ill post up some pics.
Old 12-05-2008, 09:11 PM

pics go in order sequence. first one is before anything was done

hope this helps a little,
Brandon
Old 12-05-2008, 09:15 PM
Chapter President

thanks brandon, the pictures did help.