1st Gen. Ram - All Topics Discussion for all Dodge Rams prior to 1994. This includes engine, drivetrain and non-drivetrain discussions. Anything prior to 1994 should go in here.

Newbie ? about exhaust housings

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2005, 11:25 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie ? about exhaust housings

I have had my truck about two years now. 91 3/4 ton 2wd, getrag, 3.54, 203,000. I have seen a lot of referance to the 16cm exhaust housing. Is this the best do-it-all size? Why is it so popular? What sizes were factory for our trucks? Are the housings marked for size anywhere? I assume the number refers to the internal volume of the turbine housing? Is this a good, bang for the buck mod? Looking for inexpensive upgrades that I can do myself. Only thing done to the truck so far is straight pipe exhaust into dual 5 inch stacks. I love the feeling when passing a victom in 5th gear, but I am sure it can be improved upon. I have lots of experience with gas, but haven't touched a diesel.
Old 11-27-2005, 11:40 AM

Basically the small the turbine the quicker the spool up. But before you go to a small housing its recomended to turn your pump up a bit, youll need gagues when you do this. I believe yours is a 21cm housing, but it might even be a 18.5 you can look its on the housing. as for cheap mods ive got the 16cm housing (160) 3200 rpm spring, (20), Htt stage 3 (230) everything else ive dont is free mods, like turing up the fuel, grinding the fuel pin. BTW is yours intercooled? Im sure the wiser first geners will post here before to long.
Old 11-27-2005, 11:53 AM

Yes, my truck has the factory intercooler. The previous owner said he had a local diesel guru work the pump. I think it smokes a little more than a stocker.
Old 11-27-2005, 01:01 PM